top of page

Portrait of a Senior Territorian Art Award

Exhibition opening: Saturday 8 July, from 2pm; to be opened by Joe De Luca, CEO, Multicultural Council of the NT Inc.

Runs daily 9am-5pm until Sunday 6 August

Offsite venue: Darwin Entertainment Centre Gallery, 93 Mitchell St, Darwin City

Fresh from its debut showing in Alice Springs and at its new host venue, the Araluen Arts Centre, (8 April – 12 June 2017), the NT’s much-beloved annual Portrait of a Senior Territorian Art Award returns to Darwin with its impressive 2017 field of entrants, 33 in total. Since its inception in 1999, the award has captured the imagination of Territorian artists of all ages and stages of practice, just as the subjects have come from all walks of life. It remains the only portrait award exhibition in the country to put a spotlight on seniors which resonates with the culturally embedded notion of ‘elder’ in the Territory.

Artists: Dennis Bezzant, Julia Broad, Iain Campbell, Rita Cattoni, Deborah Clarke, Esther Copier, Janelle Fisher, Marianne Foster, Anni Fritz, David Gardner, Stuart Gluth, Matthew Grant, Melanie Gunner, Heather Hupalo, Trevor Jenkins, Apples Kemp, Blake Kendall & MK Turner, Baz Ledwidge, John Lewis, Angus McIvor, Jesse Milne, Jan Milner, Dan Murphy, James Nasir, David Nicholls, Natasha Perkins, Penca Rafiqi, Carol Randall, Henry Smith, Kellie Sobieralski, Al Strangeways, Jennifer Taylor, Garifalitsa Maria Zaimakis

Judges: Marlene Rubuntja, Artist, Alice Springs; Russel Goldflam, Lawyer, Alice Springs; Therese Ritchie, Artist, Darwin

Congratulations to all winning and commended artists (detailed opp.); the People’s Choice Award winner will be determined at the end of the exhibition’s Darwin season.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page